View all newsletters
Receive our newsletter - data, insights and analysis delivered to you
  1. Technology
May 9, 2017updated 26 Jul 2022 5:47am

O2 roaming charges scrapped across Europe

From the 15th of June users will face no roaming charges in 47 countries.

By Joe Clark

O2 has announced that UK customer will be able to use their UK mobile plans, in 47 countries with no extra roaming charges.

The UK mobile provider’s decision to allow customers to use minutes, texts and data roaming abroad comes into effect on the 15th of June this year, the same date that the European Union’s policy of abolishing roaming charges begins.

It’s still unclear how the UK’s decision to leave the EU by 2019 will affect these new changes.

In a statement O2 said: “O2 customers don’t need to do anything to take advantage of the changes. Instead, from Thursday 15 June they’ll simply be able to make and receive calls and texts to anyone in O2’s Europe Zone and use their data allowance too.”

“If they need extra data while they’re abroad, O2 customers will be able to add a Bolt On just like they can at home – they’ll be able to use any leftover data when they return too.”

The move comes after EE announced that they would be doing the same last week, and Vodafone has been offering free roaming for over a month at this point.

However, Three UK is still the market leader in this department and has been offering fee-less roaming in 42 countries for several years now.

Content from our partners
Scan and deliver
GenAI cybersecurity: "A super-human analyst, with a brain the size of a planet."
Cloud, AI, and cyber security – highlights from DTX Manchester

The full list of countries that customers will be able to take advantage of this offer in are: Austria, Azores, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canary Islands, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, French Guiana, Germany, Gibraltar (UK), Greece, Guadeloupe, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Madeira, Malta, Martinique, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Reunion Islands, Romania, Saint Barthelemy, Saint Martin (French), San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, The Netherlands and Vatican City. Destinations outside the EU/EEA are also included – Guernsey, Isle of Man, Jersey, Monaco and Switzerland.

O2 will begin notifying customers of the change via text between now and the 15th of June.

Topics in this article : , , , , ,
Websites in our network
Select and enter your corporate email address Tech Monitor's research, insight and analysis examines the frontiers of digital transformation to help tech leaders navigate the future. Our Changelog newsletter delivers our best work to your inbox every week.
  • CIO
  • CTO
  • CISO
  • CSO
  • CFO
  • CDO
  • CEO
  • Architect Founder
  • MD
  • Director
  • Manager
  • Other
Visit our privacy policy for more information about our services, how Progressive Media Investments may use, process and share your personal data, including information on your rights in respect of your personal data and how you can unsubscribe from future marketing communications. Our services are intended for corporate subscribers and you warrant that the email address submitted is your corporate email address.