View all newsletters
Receive our newsletter - data, insights and analysis delivered to you
  1. Technology
November 17, 1993


By CBR Staff Writer

It was so secret that it never existed officially, and from March 31 next year, it won’t: the 17 member countries of the Paris-based CoCom Co-ordinating Committee for multi-lateral export controls, set an April 1 deadline to replace the Cold War body that aimed to stop the communist bloc from getting technology that could be diverted to military use with a new grouping to which Russia, China and other former enemies will be invited to join; the new body will draw a more flexible map of banned destinations for sensitive technology; members of the current pact – all 16 NATO countries except Iceland, plus Australia and Japan – will meet Russian officials in the coming days, and fully co-operating countries – Finland, Switzerland, Austria, Sweden, Ireland, New Zealand and Hong Kong – will also be invited to join the new group, Reuter reports.

Websites in our network
NEWSLETTER Sign up Tick the boxes of the newsletters you would like to receive. Tech Monitor's research, insight and analysis examines the frontiers of digital transformation to help tech leaders navigate the future. Our Changelog newsletter delivers our best work to your inbox every week.
I consent to New Statesman Media Group collecting my details provided via this form in accordance with the Privacy Policy